Conference programme

Society of Psychotherapy Conference

Saturday May 2018

Eliot Room, British Library


9.15 Malcolm Peterson (Chair, Society of Psychotherapy)

9.30  Emmy van Deurzen (Principal, New School of Psychotherapy and Counselling, first chair of the United Kingdom of Counselling and Psychotherapy)
Psychotherapy: Facing an uncertain future

10.00 Chris Williams (President, British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapy)
CBT – is it so very different from other psychotherapies?

10.30 Coffee (provided)

11 Susanna Abse  (Trustee, British Psychoanalytic Council)
Ideological splits and historical antagonisms – Is that just a psychoanalytic problem?

11.30  Maureen McIntosh (Chair, Division of Counselling Psychology, British Psychological Society)
Can counselling psychologists share an identity with psychotherapists?

12 Plenary with questions from the audience

12.45 Lunch break (lunch not provided)

1.30  Myira Khan (Trustee and Governor, British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy
Title to be confirmed

2.00 Martin Pollecoff (Chair, United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapy)
So many roads – so many trains to ride

2.30  Digby Tantam (Director, Existential Academy, first Chair, Universities Psychotherapy and Counselling Association)
What might a unified profession look like?

3.00 Tea break (tea provided)

3.30  Plenary with questions from the audience

4.15 Concluding remarks

4.30 Conference ends